13 weeks young

Standard

My dear boy,

It is 13 weeks today since you came into my life. And every blessed Friday I got to reminisce how beautiful your birth was, alhamdulillah.

20130817-063115.jpg

From before you were conceived, mommy hoped and prayed for a gentle and natural birth to welcome you into the world. A few months before you were in my womb, I had a vision while I was writing – that this is also what you want for yourself. Mommy took it as intuition and guidance from Allah.

You were such a great partner in this journey. From day 1, you have always been with me. You told me what food that is good to eat, and what food to avoid. You loved it when we walked in the park and that helped mommy became fit for natural birth. When you were in breech position and mommy tell you to turn while in polar bear position, you listened and obliged. When you were in posterior position and mommy keep squatting and doing hip spiral to make you turn facing back – once again you dutifully followed. You were such a great partner and made it easy for mommy. Thank you very much my darling son 🙂

My dear son,

You were so brave and so full of faith in your innate ability to journey out into this world. You knew when is the right time and the right place to be born and you helped mommy get ready for you.

Did you remember when mommy breathed you down? I hope my breathing and me being relaxed helped making your journey down the birth passage easier.

Did you remember when you first crowned and your head appeared? Your dad was the first person to see and touch you. It was mere seconds after your head was out that our body slides into daddy’s loving arm. Mommy remembers a rush of happiness flooded through my whole body. It was the highest peak of oxytocin and it made me giddy for the whole day!

Daddy passed you into my arm with your cord still attached. I cradled you into my arm – my baby, my fresh new baby – and repeatedly said ‘my baby, my baby’. It felt so natural, holding you in my arms – as if I have been doing it forever. And from the moment that I first hold you, I felt like I already knew you. You were so warm and sturdy and chubby. You were very calm and only cried a little as if saying yeay, I’m finally here.

We bonded, you me and daddy in this beautiful moment and it was all captured in photo by our doula too!

While we did our best to achieve gentle and natural birth for ourselves, do know that nothing can be achieved if it’s not in the will of Allah. So my dear Zayd, let us always praise and thank Allah for giving us this wonderful experience. Let us always be grateful to Him for all His protection, His guidance, His love and mercy on us.

Subhanallah walhamdulillah wa lailahaillah wallahuakbar.

Leave a Reply

