Forgiveness

Standard

From my baby Zayd, I learnt a lot about forgiveness. Babies are such forgiving beings. During his early days, when I was struggling with breastfeeding as a first time mom with all the breastfeeding problems in the book, I don’t think I was a very good mom. My patience were always running thin, effect from the combination of constant nipple pain and lack of sleep. There were times when I scolded him, yes, scolded few days old babies *hung head in shame. And there were times I just pushed him too hard to get a good latch. While he cried during the moment, he will always bounce back to his cheery loving self the next moment he saw me. My little baby boy is so forgiving it made me cried many times out of shame and guilt. But it also made me want to be a much better mom to my sweet boy.

I had issues with forgiveness. I tend to store negative memories for far too long in my memory box. Zayd taught me to forgive and forget everyday. To exist solely and firmly in the moment, where there is no past and no future. In the present, there’s only love.

Leave a Reply

